Stowmarket Striders
Running Club

Suffolk Winter League County Cross Country

The Suffolk Cross Country League is a series of five races run during the winter months. It is only open to Suffolk running clubs, but again this is open to all ages (there is also usually a Junior race) and abilities and is a great social event. There are five races in the series, each approximately 5 miles over multi-terrain track and fields.  The club gains points for every member that enters, so your very presence will be a boost for the club. The club with the highest points at the end of the season goes forward to the finals.  There are individual prizes for age category winners (to qualify you need to run 4 out of the 6 races) but sometimes the most rewarding challenge is to just see how your performance and strength improves as the season progresses.

These races are held on Sundays at 11am and cost £4 per person payable on the day to the Team Captains.  All you need to do to enter is turn up at the venue in your Stowmarket Striders team kit, see Team Captains, Melody-Anne & Ritchie and pay £4 to enter.  Hot drinks and cakes afterwards! So come along and try one, or join in them all.

Junior races usually start at 10.45am and are free to enter.

To qualify for individual prizes, athletes must compete at 4 out of the 6 races.

RACE RESULTS AS THEY ARE UPDATED

 

Sunday XC training is held at Haughley Park throughout the winter months from Sunday 1st October 2017

9.00am - Senior session (1 hour) weekly - Juniors aged 14+ may join in

Once a month a Junior XC session will be held at 10.00am for 45 minutes - dates to be advised, sign up at club

Introduction to Cross Country Session for beginners and first-timers - 1st October 10.00am

 

Sunday 1 Oct 9am - Senior session & 10am - Introduction to Cross Country Session
Sunday 8 Oct Senior session 
Sunday 15 Oct Senior session
Sunday 22 Oct Senior session
Sunday 29 Oct Senior session
Sunday 5 Nov No training - Framlingham XC Race
Sunday 12 Nov No training - Scenic 7 Race
Sunday 19 Nov Senior session
Sunday 26 Nov Senior session
Sunday 3 Dec No training - Woodbridge XC Race
Sunday 10 Dec Senior Session
Sunday 17 Dec Senior Session
Sunday 24 Dec Christmas Eve - to be confirmed...
Sunday 31 Dec New Years Eve - to be confirmed...
Sunday 7 Jan Senior session
Sunday 14 Jan No training - Stowmarket XC Race
Sunday 21 Jan Senior session
Sunday 28 Jan Senior session
Sunday 4 Feb Senior session
Sunday 11 Feb Senior session
Sunday 18 Feb No Training – Bury XC Race
Sunday 25 Feb Senior session
Sunday 4 Mar Senior session
Sunday 12 Mar No Training – Bungay XC race at Fritton Lake
Sunday 18 Mar No Training – Stowmarket Half Marathon - tbc
Sunday 25 Mar No Training – Haverhill XC race - tbc

 

SWL XC League 2017/2018 Fixtures

Races

Race Distance Venue Event Date Link
Framlingham XC 5 Miles Sports Club, Badingham Road 05/11/2017 - 11:00
Woodbridge XC 5 Miles Sutton Village Hall 03/12/2017 - 11:00
Stowmarket XC 5 Miles Haughley Park 15/01/2017 - 11:00
Bury XC 5 Miles Nowton Park 18/02/2018 - 11:00
Haverhill XC 5 Miles Samuel Ward Academy 25/03/2018 - 11:00
Bungay XC 5 Miles Fritton Lake 11/03/2018 - 11:00