Stowmarket Striders
Running Club

Suffolk Winter League County Cross Country & Training

The Suffolk Cross Country League is a series of five races run during the winter months. It is only open to Suffolk running clubs, but again this is open to all ages (there is also usually a Junior race) and abilities and is a great social event. There are five races in the series, each approximately 5 miles over multi-terrain track and fields.  The club gains points for every member that enters, so your very presence will be a boost for the club. The club with the highest points at the end of the season goes forward to the finals.  There are individual prizes for age category winners (to qualify you need to run 4 out of the 6 races) but sometimes the most rewarding challenge is to just see how your performance and strength improves as the season progresses.

These races are held on Sundays at 11am and cost £4 per person payable on the day to the Team Captains.  All you need to do to enter is turn up at the venue in your Stowmarket Striders team kit, see Team Captains, and pay £4 to enter.  Hot drinks and cakes afterwards! So come along and try one, or join in them all.

Junior races usually start at 10.45am and are free to enter.

To qualify for individual prizes, athletes must compete at 4 out of the 6 races.

RACE RESULTS AS THEY ARE UPDATED

 

Sunday XC training is held at Haughley Park throughout the winter months from Sunday 7th October 2018

9.00am - Senior session (1 hour) weekly - Juniors aged 14+ may join in

2018/19 Schedule:

Sunday 9 Oct Senior session 
Sunday 14 Oct Senior session
Sunday 21 Oct Senior session
Sunday 28 Oct Senior session
Sunday 4 Nov No training - Framlingham XC Race
Sunday 11 Nov No training - Scenic 7 Race
Sunday 18 Nov Senior session
Sunday 25 Nov Senior session
Sunday 2 Dec No training - Woodbridge XC Race
Sunday 9 Dec Senior Session
Sunday 16 Dec Senior Session
Sunday 23 Dec Senior Session
Sunday 30 Dec Senior Session
Sunday 6 Jan No training - Suffolk County XC Championships - tbc
Sunday 13 Jan Senior Session
Sunday 20 Jan No training - Stowmarket XC Race
Sunday 27 Jan Senior session
Sunday 3 Feb Senior session
Sunday 10 Feb Senior session
Sunday 17 Feb No Training – Bury XC Race
Sunday 24 Feb Senior session 
Sunday 3 Mar Senior session - Last of the Season
Sunday 10 Mar No Training – Bungay XC race at Fritton Lake
Sunday 17 Mar No Training
Sunday 24 Mar No Training – Haverhill XC race 

 

SWL XC League 2018/2019 Fixtures

Races

Race Distance Venue Event Date Link
Framlingham XC 5 Miles Sports Club, Badingham Road, IP13 9HS 04/11/2018 - 11:00
Woodbridge XC 5 Miles Sutton Village Hall, IP12 3JQ 02/12/2018 - 11:00
Stowmarket XC 5 Miles Haughley Park, IP14 3JY 20/01/2019 - 11:00
Bury XC 5 Miles Nowton Park, IP29 5BD 17/02/2019 - 11:00
Haverhill XC 5 Miles Haverhill Golf Club, CB9 7UW 24/03/2019 - 11:00
Bungay XC 5 Miles Fritton Lake, NR31 9EU 10/03/2019 - 11:00